Friday, 29 January 2016

Garmarna ‎– Guds Spelemän (1996)


Country: Sweden

1. Herr Mannelig 06:22
2. Vänner Och Fränder 05:11
3. Halling Från Makedonien 02:45
4. Min Man 04:20
5. Varulven 04:33
6. Hilla Lilla 06:19
7. Drew Drusnaar / Idag Som Igår 02:46
8. Njaalkeme 05:03
9. Herr Holger 04:38
10. Guds Spelemän 03:27

Garmarna was formed in 1990 in Sundsvall, Sweden.
Stefan Brisland-Ferner, Gotte Ringqvist and Rickard Westman were inspired by old Swedish music 

and Olov Johansson's musical score for a production of Shakespeare's Hamlet.
After a year of playing together and
searching for old tunes and instruments, Jens Höglin joined the band on drums.
In 1992 the band recorded their self titled first EP. 

They thought that female vocals would provide a contrast to the dark mood of their music and invited Emma Härdelin
a long-time friend of the band, as the guest vocalist on the EP. 
She officially joined the band in 1993. The debut EP sold well in Sweden, and helped the band tour in Scandinavia.
On the album Vittrad, the band decided to add samples and sequencers to the mix. 

In 1994, Omnium released Vittrad in the USA, with English translations of the old songs.
Garmarna started a long German tour and released the album Guds Spelemän (The Fiddlers Of God) in 1996. 

The album sold well in Sweden and was reviewed favourably internationally.
It received the Swedish Grammy award as Album of the Year.
In 1998 Garmarna did a series of concerts in churches in the North of Sweden presenting their interpretation 

of the medieval works of Hildegard of Bingen, together with actress Felicia Konrad.
In 1999 the band released their third album Vedergällningen

The album leaned towards rock and trip hop with the atmosphere of the music being more obscure than in previous works.
Following Vedergällningen, the band returned to the studio to complete their Hildegard Von Bingen album in 2001. 

The tracks are based on the compositions of 12th century German abbess Hildegard of Bingen, and the lyrics are in Latin.
In 2015, it was reported that the band was working on a new album.


  1. And their new album is out!

    1. I did not know that, thanx for the heads up!