Monday, 28 January 2013

Deviser ‎– Unspeakable Cults (1996)

Country: Greece

1. Stand & Deliver 03:52
2. Darkness Incarnate 05:52
3. Threnody 03:53
4. When Nightmares Begin 04:29
5. The Rape of Holiness 05:36
6. Ritual Orgy 03:24
7. Dangers of a Real & Concrete Nature 03:21
8. The Fire Burning Bright 03:56
9. In the Horror Field 03:06
10. Afterkill 01:20

Founded in 1989 in Crete and stamped by a primitive thrash/death metal style, 
Deviser moved to Athens in 1992 and attracted the interest of the underground scene with demos 
and a 7" EP in 1994, entitled "The Revelation Of Higher Mysteries" (Teutonic Existence Records)
A mini tour took place in Greece and Holland (Dec. '94) in the context of the promotion 
and in the next year, Deviser released "Thy blackest Love" demo. 
With this release, they signed up with the Dutch label Mascot Records for two full length Cds. 
Deviser recorded their debut album "Unspeakable Cults" at Praxis studio (Athens) in August/September '96.
This album dragged air into the burning lungs of black metal with a unique sense of extremity with dreamy melodies, offering melodic black metal with some atmospheric keyboards and the unavoidable Hellenic sound. 
The music is brilliantly composed, with a perfect mixture of aggression and melody. 
Another classic from the Greek scene.


Angizia ‎– Das Schachbrett Des Trommelbuben Zacharias (1999)

Country: Austria

1. Pique Dame Und Rachmaninov, 1904 06:59
2. Ich Bin Ein Bewohner Des S/W-Diagramms 05:47
3. Der Kinderzar 06:08
4. Schlittenfahrt Mit Einer Lodenpuppe 06:42
5. Ungeliebter Kammerfrieden 09:20
6. Der Essayist 04:12
7. 2 Millionen Rubel 07:27
8. Das Bauernendspiel 05:10

Angizia is an avantgarde group from Vienna, founded in 1994 by Michael Haas (also known as Engelke).
Their style can be defined as a mixture of 19th century operetta, classical music,
with a touch of gothic-theatrical dramatism and a bit of metal as well. All band members are highly skilled musicians, including Jochen Stock of Dornenreich, Christof Niederwieser of Korova and KorovaKill
and multi-band drummer Moritz Neuner.
"Das Schachbrett des Trommelbuben Zacharias" is the second part of the bands “Russian trilogy” with the other two consisting of the albums "Das Tagebuch der Hanna Anikin" and "39 Jahre für den Leierkastenmann".
Angizia developed itself into a kind of unconventional and crazy formation in a greedy musical underground
and gave the piano more special emphasis in the course of time of the band’s extravagant theatrical foreground.
Engelke started an intense cooperation with guitar player Emmerich Haimer to compose the music 
for “Das Schachbrett des Trommelbuben Zacharias” in spring 1998.
What came into being was a harmonious, melodious and extravagant medley consisting of dramatic elements
and unconventional-humorous rhythms.
Julian Schonberg acted as timeless pianist while Irene Denner gleamed with her charismatic female voice.
Das Schachbrett des Trommelbuben Zacharias” developed itself to a kind of avantgardistic memorial of the Angizia-culture and once more demonstrated another musical modification, Engelke wished to reach with every new album.


Equimanthorn ‎– Nindinugga Nimshimshargal Enlillara (1994)

Country: United States

1. Reflections Of The First Rays Of The Moon (Possess Me) - Part I 03:01
2. The Cold Mystic Winds Of Nanakanisurra (Dwelling South In The Crimson Desert: Roba El Khaliyeh) 13:33
3. Augmn: Father To All 05:31
4. The King Of The Southern Throne 06:54
5. Thy Queen Ereshkigal (Truth Of The Sword Shall Be Known To All) 06:50
6. Reflections Of The First Rays Of The Moon (In Search Of The Shores Of Rays) - Part II 05:42

"The cold mystic winds of Nanakanisurra," a scarlet spell upon Prometheus and fervent candlelight 
are the doleful elements that brought Equimanthorn together in the year 1992. 
The members of Absu were determined to choose an alternate path. 
This pathway warped them through storms of occult sciences and the mythology of the ancient Sumerians.
In the past decade, Equimanthorn has manifested as a wayward project 
commanding the participation of other prominent occult-minded musicians. 
Through experimental and droned ceremonial oblations, the band expresses anguish and treacherous lust
without ever forgetting the ironic twist that endures in their craft.
Equimanthorn is a project that exceeds the limits of a category for their style of occult-ambient music. 
The elements, in which are used, might be labeled as ritualistic, mysterious, exquisite yet haunting to name a few. 
This is the ultimate soundtrack dedicated to Sumerian fables, featuring members from Absu, Equitant,  
The Soil Bleeds Black, Zemial, Melechesh, Eldar, Blutleuchte, Arkane, and Black Seas of Infinity.