Sunday, 25 March 2012

Arcana – Cantar De Procella (1997)

Country: Sweden

1. The Opening Of The Wound 03:32
2. Chant Of The Awakening 04:22
3. The Song Of Solitude (The Cry Of Isolde) 02:57
4. Void Of Silence 03:23
5. Cantar De Procella 06:26
6. Aeterna Doloris 02:55
7. The Song Of Preparation 00:43
8. God Of The Winds 04:45
9. The Dreams Made Of Sand 04:43
10. Gathering Of The Storm 04:15
11. La Salva De Profundis 05:29
12. The Tree Within 03:38

Arcana's follow up to their one year old debut album. 
The band here consisted of founder Peter Bjärgö (then Peter Pettersson) and vocalist Ida Bengtsson.
A great album with a mixture of industrial elements, beautiful female vocals, 
classical power and medieval atmospheres.
Released on Cold Meat Industry.

Wednesday, 14 March 2012

Sacramentum – Far Away From The Sun (1996)

Country: Sweden

1. Fog's Kiss 04:47
2. Far Away From The Sun 05:13
3. Blood Shall Be Spilled 04:42
4. When Night Surrounds Me 06:04
5. Cries From A Restless Soul 05:10
6. Obsolete Tears 04:40
7. Beyond All Horizons 06:32
8. The Vision And The Voice 04:41
9. Outro - Darkness Falls For Me/Far Away From The Sun (Part Two) 04:10

Formed under the name Tumulus in 1990 and changed it to Sacramentum in 1992,
Far Away From The Sun is their first full-length release.
This is cold atmospheric furious Black Metal at its best.
Recorded and mixed at Unisound studios.

Sunday, 11 March 2012

Necromantia – Scarlet Evil Witching Black (1995)

Country: Greece

1. Devilskin 05:49
2. Black Mirror 06:30
3. Pretender To The Throne (Opus I: The Usurper's Spawn) 05:27   
4. The Arcane Light Of Hecate 04:20
5. Scarlet Witching Dreams 05:23
6. The Serpent And The Pentagram 05:17
7. Pretender To The Throne (Opus II: Battle At The Netherworld) 07:50
8. Spiritdance 06:25 

Scarlet Evil Witching Black is the second album by the Greek black metal band Necromantia.
Recorded and mixed at Sin Ena Studio as the band states "No rhythm guitar is used on this album",
instead, there is an 8-string bass (by Baron Blood) that plays that part,
therefore you should expect a unique orchestration and strange sound 
as Necromantia has its own point of view about black metal.
Nothing of the grimness and coldness, of the typical Norwegian black metal can be found here.
Magus Wampyr Daoloth with his haunting keyboard melodies creates an evil atmosphere, 
inspired from classical and jazz music.
The use of piano, acoustic guitar and even a saxophone combined with the epic and violent riffs,
that varies from extremely fast to more slow and doomy, sets the boundaries of a brilliant album.
This is for sure Necromantia's magnum opus.