Wednesday, 29 October 2014

Howard Shore – Videodrome (1982)

Composer: Howard Shore

1. Welcome To Videodrome 04:11
2. 801 A/B 07:14
3. A Slow Burn 04:46
4. TV Or Not TV 05:09
5. TV Passions 05:49
6. Pins And Needles 03:04
7. Long Live The New Flesh 03:26

Howard Leslie Shore (born October 18, 1946) is a Canadian composer, notable for his over 80 films scores. 
He is also a consistent collaborator with director David Cronenberg, having scored all but one of his films since 1979.
Videodrome is a 1983 Canadian science fiction body horror film written and directed by David Cronenberg.
The original score was composed for Videodrome by Cronenberg's close friend, Howard Shore.
The score was composed to follow Max Renn's (played by James Woods) descent into video hallucinations, 
starting with dramatic orchestral music that increasingly incorporates and finally emphasizes electronic instrumentation.
To achieve this Shore composed the score for an orchestra before programming it into a Synclavier II digital synthesizer.
The rendered score, taken from the Synclavier II, was then recorded being played in tandem with a small string section. 
The resulting sound was a subtle blend that made it difficult to tell which sounds were real and which were synthesized.
The soundtrack was released on vinyl by Varèse Sarabande and was re-released on compact disc in 1998.
Videodrome's cult status has made it a popular source for sampling in electro-industrial, EBM and heavy metal music. 

It ranked tenth on the top 1,319 sample sources list of 2004.


Tuesday, 21 October 2014

Vendemmian ‎– Between Two Worlds (1993)

Country: England

1. Maelstrom 03:31
2. Betrayal By Youth 04:18
3. The Passing Of Remoteness 04:56
4. Only As Far As The Burning Grounds 03:21
5. The Calling 04:37
6. Between Two Worlds 01:19

Vendemmian were formed at the end of 1992 after Dave (Guitars) and Mark (Bass) left their previous band (Restoration). 
They recruited vocalist, Dominic and soon began writing material which culminated in a self titled demo at the end of 1992.
The early part of 1993 was spent writing new songs and playing live throughout England. 
A drummer, Robi, was added to the line up and the band recorded their second demo, "Lords of Flame"
More gigs followed then in September 1993 the band recorded their debut CD “Between Two Worlds” 
which was released on the Resurrection Records label.
In 1994 the band entered St Marks studios in London to record “Through The Depths Of Innocence”. 
After the recording they played their debut at the Sanctuary Club in London and traveled for a short tour. 
At the beginning of 1995 “Treacherous” was released followed by an extensive German tour.
By the end of 1997 the band had released another two albums and had played live on many festivals.

 After their appearance at The Tower in Dublin gig the band broke up but they are back since 2008.


Sunday, 19 October 2014

The Fuzztones ‎– Lysergic Emanations (1985)

Country: United States

1. 1-2-5 02:39
2. Gotta Get Some 02:33
3. Journey To Tyme 02:47
4. Ward 81 05:29
5. Strychnine 02:31
6. Radar Eyes 02:33
7. Cinderella 02:56
8. Highway 69 02:56
9. Just Once 05:24
10. She's Wicked 03:18
11. As Time's Gone 02:11
12. Living Sickness 03:20
13. Bad News Travels Fast (Peel Sessions) 02:39
14. She's Wicked (Peel Sessions) 03:15
15. Epitaph For A Head (Peel Sessions) 01:48
16. Cinderella (Peel Sessions) 02:56
17. Green Slime (Lysergic Sessions) 02:16

The Fuzztones have achieved legendary status as cult faves during their career. 
Their brand of garage-psych punk pre-dated the "Garage Revival" of the 1980's and has influenced hundreds of groups.
They formed in 1980 by singer-guitarist Rudi Protrudi in New York City and maintained a strong fan base in New York, 
in Europe (with their music being played on Hungarian State Radio), and in Los Angeles. 
In 1984 and 1985, The Fuzztones collaborated with Screamin' Jay Hawkins
resulting in "Screamin' Jay Hawkins and The Fuzztones Live" album recorded at Irving Plaza in December 1984.
Rudi Protrudi moved to Los Angeles in 1987, after the breakup of the original band, to organize a new Fuzztones
consisting of Jordan Tarlow (Guitar), John Carlucci (Bass), Jason Savall (Vox Organ) & "Mad" Mike Czekaj (Drums). 
This lineup bears the distinction of being the only 1980's garage rock revival band to secure a major label record deal.