Friday, 28 February 2014

Fields Of The Nephilim ‎– Elizium (1990)

Country: England

1. (Dead But Dreaming) 01:28
2. For Her Light 03:01
3. At The Gates Of Silent Memory 08:24
4. (Paradise Regained) 02:29
5. Submission 08:28
6. Sumerland (What Dreams May Come) 11:09
7. Wail Of Sumer 06:24
8. And There Will Your Heart Be Also 07:37

Fields of the Nephilim are an English gothic rock band formed in Stevenage, Hertfordshire, England in 1984.
The original line-up consisted of vocalist Carl McCoy, saxophonist Gary Wisker
Tony Pettitt on bass, guitarist Paul Wright and drummer Alexander "Nod" Wright
Following the release of the debut EP Burning the Fields
Wisker left the band to be replaced by Peter Yates as second guitarist. 
Paul Chousmer played keyboards in the live band from 1988 until 1990, and appeared on the live album Earth Inferno
The current incarnation of the band has released one authorized recording of new material 
and one double live album since 1990 with Carl McCoy and Tony Pettit remaining from the original lineup.
The band's name refers to a Biblical race of giants or angel-human hybrids, known as the Nephilim
Although they have not received substantial mainstream success, 
the band's seminal sound has proved highly influential, especially in the genre of gothic rock.


Tuesday, 18 February 2014

Death – Leprosy (1988)

Country: United States

1. Leprosy 06:20
2. Born Dead 03:27
3. Forgotten Past 04:36
4. Left to Die 04:38
5. Pull the Plug 04:27
6. Open Casket 04:56
7. Primitive Ways 04:33
8. Choke on It 05:54

Death was an influential death metal band founded by guitarist and singer Chuck Schuldiner in Orlando, Florida in 1983. They released several demos as Mantas before changing their name to Death in 1984.
Death is widely considered one of the most influential bands in the genre. 
The band’s debut, “Scream Bloody Gore”, has been described as “death metal’s first archetypal document,” 
and Schuldiner himself as the “father of death metal”. However, Schuldiner dismissed such attributions.
After the album “Spiritual Healing”, Death began moving away from their early death metal sound 
and adopting more of a progressive metal style, with jazz-influenced bass playing and more complex time signatures.
Their last album, “The Sound of Perseverance”, was released in 1998.
In 1999, Schuldiner was diagnosed with a malignant type of brain cancer. In June 2001 there was an aid to help Chuck. There was signed Death merchandise which went for auction along with other bands merchandise. 
Despite the effort this was not enough to save him.
Chuck Schuldiner died in 2001, from a three-year battle with brain stem cancer and the band ended.
Along the way, Death included celebrated musicians from the death metal genre, 
including bassist, Steve DiGiorgio, drummer Gene Hoglan, and guitarist, James Murphy.

Wednesday, 12 February 2014

Funeral Mist – Devilry (MCD 1998)

Country: Sweden

1. The Devil's Emissary 04:08
2. Bringer of Terror 03:50
3. Nightside Phantom 03:46
4. Funeral Mist 05:01
5. The God Supreme 04:03

Funeral Mist is a black metal band formed in Stockholm, Sweden in autumn of 1993 by now former members.
Daniel Rosten is the frontman for Funeral Mist under the stage name Arioch.He was added in the summer of 1994.
Since 2004, he has also been the lead vocalist for Marduk, credited as Mortuus.
They have released two full-length albums, one EP, and a Compilation CD. 
From 1996-2003, the band featured prolific metal guitarist, drummer, and studio owner 
Necromorbus (Tore Stjerna), among their number.
The lyrics deal with devil worship and often use (sometimes slightly changed) quotes 
from the Authorized King James version of the Bible.
Devilry was re-released in 2005 by Norma Evangelium Diaboli 
with the track Hellspell 2 and the Havoc demo as bonus tracks.