Tuesday, 31 March 2015

Dunkelheit ‎– Obey (1995)

Country: Norway

1. Untitled 00:16
2. Soulscape Fading 10:13
3. Untitled 00:17
4. Finding the Way 01:50
5. Untitled 00:49
6. Separate Ways 06:13
7. LRB9-51 00:53
8. Thrive 05:49
9. Untitled 00:31
10. Conformity Control 02:26
11. Anarchaoz 03:38
12. Untitled 00:05
13. Solitary Survival 03:26
14. On and On 05:09
15. Untitled 00:13
16. True Believers In False Prophets (Origami Replika) 03:57
17. Technol 03:41
18. Untitled 00:23
19. Lozt Love (Origami Replika) 01:22
20. Chorus of Contemplation 04:51
21. Untitled 00:26
22. Munchscape 15:24
23. Untitled 00:11

Dunkelheit (aka Dunkel:heit) started out in the summer of '92 as a part-time industrial-style project 
containing members from the industrial metal band Red Harvest.
After recording some songs, they decided to keep going and started recruiting more members.
Around a year later they recorded a demo on an 8-track recorder.
Instead of pushing their demo heavily around, they band started playing around with the idea of doing a compilation CD. 
The CD, entitled "The Reincarnation Of The Sun", was released in February 1994 by Dunkel Prod. 
and contained (mostly) exclusive material from Red Harvest, Anstalt, Valhall, Dunkelheit, Remyl, Piledriver and Humid.
Shortly after this release, Suggestion Records got in touch with the band and offered a deal for a 7" EP. 

"More Than Meets The Third Eye" was recorded with four new songs and released in the summer of '94.
Pleased with the result of this 7" EP, Suggestion offered a deal for a full-length CD.
The material was recorded in March '95, and the CD "Obey" was released in the end of the summer '95.
Since then the project was put on hold.


Monday, 30 March 2015

Arcane Art ‎– Arcane Art (10'' EP 1997)

Country: Norway

1. The Spiral Dance 07:53
2. Facing The Dawn Of Time 05:58
3. The March Of The Universe 06:37
4. My Destination 07:43

The creator behind Arcane Art is Karsten Hamre 
(also in Penitent, Veiled Allusions, Dense Vision Shrine and other projects). 
Karsten Hamre (aka Beastus Rex) used to ran Genocide zine 
and also did the cover art and photos of some Norwegian black metal bands in early and mid 90's.
The band is an unification between two different projects, namely Magistratus and Moral Insanity
In mid 90's a demo tape was recorded and spread to a few selected individuals, magazines and labels. 
This tape had four tracks that later were recorded and released as a 10" picture disc 
(limited to 500 copies) through Prophecy Productions in August `97.
Since then Arcane Art recorded and released four full length albums.


Sunday, 29 March 2015

Golden Dawn ‎– The Art Of Dreaming (1996)

Country: Austria

1. Ideosynchronicity 03:09
2. The Art Of Dreaming 04:21
3. Nothing But The Wind 06:42
4. My Confession To War 04:19
5. Sub Specie Aeternitatis 04:18
6. The Majesty Of My Kingdom Afar 07:09
7. The Sorcery Of The Nagual Side 03:52
8. Per Aspera Ad Astra 08:13
9. Beyond The Mortal Shell 06:18

Golden Dawn is an Austrian band formed by Stefan Traunmüller (aka Dreamlord), 
originally as a one-man black metal project, in 1992. 
After a demo and one split release the band attracted the attention of two influential Austrian metallists, 
Ray Wells of Pazuzu and Martin Schirenc of Pungent Stench and Hollenthon
which led to a compilation appearance and eventually a recording contract with Dark Matter Records.
Traunmüller recorded his debut album, The Art of Dreaming, while still a one-man band, 
but with session help from Thomas Tannenberger of Abigor and Martin Schirenc.
The blend of medieval-sounding keyboards, harsh black metal with blast beats and high screams 
and some dreamy ambient parts was very innovative at that time.
Dark Matter soon folded, however, and it was not until seven years later that the band, 
now consisting of four members, recorded its next album, Masquerade, with Napalm Records.
In January 2012, the new album, Return To Provenance, was released on Non Serviam Records.