Wednesday, 27 July 2016

In Deum Maledicus – Acies (MCD 1995)


Country: Italy

1. Acies 08:32
2. Calling 09:25
3. A Vivid White Sign 01:43

In Deum Maledicus was a short lived black metal project by two ex-Novembre members 
Giuseppe Orlando (drums, vocals) and Fabio "Puccio" Vignati (bass, guitars, keyboards). 
The band was formed in 1994 and their sole release was the "Acies" MCD 
that was recorded in Random Music House studio (Rome) during 15th/16th of January 1995. 
The MCD was released by Cysboileed Productions and featured 
two lengthy songs of atmospheric and melodic black metal and an outro. 
A second MCD was supposed to follow up but this was never happened. 
Nowadays Giuseppe Orlando plays drums for Deinonychus, Airlines Of Terror and The Foreshadowing 
and also works as an engineer at Outer Sound Studios in Rome, while Puccio committed suicide in 2014.

Thursday, 21 July 2016

Waylander – Dawning Of A New Age (Demo 1996)


Country: Ireland

1. Sunrise 03:22
2. Dawning Of A New Age 03:33
3. A Hero's Lament 07:22
4. Emain Macha 06:54

Formed in 1993, Waylander released their debut demo, "Once Upon An Era", in early 1995. 
Mixing Irish folk music with extreme metal, Waylander were soon dubbed folk, celtic and pagan metal. 
In 1996, with the addition of a full time tin-whistle player, they released their 2nd demo, "Dawning Of A New Age"
and soon gained a prominent position in the fledgling folk metal scene.
This was cemented when they signed to Century Media and in 1998, 
their debut album was released, entitled, "Reawakening Pride Once Lost". 
After overcoming some line-up changes, Waylander signed with Blackend Records 
and released their, "The Light, The Dark And The Endless Knot", album in early 2001.
After that the band had some numerous line-up changes for several years. 
Despite this they managed to perform some notable gigs with Ancient Rites, Cathedral and Skyforger.
In 2008 Waylander inked a deal with Listenable Records and their third album, 
entitled "Honour Amongst Chaos" was released, using this time a vast array of Irish folk instruments.
In 2012 the band released their fourth album through Listenable Records entitled "Kindred Spirits".

Saturday, 16 July 2016

The Second Moon ‎– The Second Moon (MCD 1998)

Country: Norway

1. Inner Apocalypse 00:43
2. Gods Of Destruction 04:14
3. A Trip To Heaven 05:42
4. Long Ago In A Hidden Valley 04:11
5. May The World Be Nothing 00:57
6. Aurora Borealis In The Atlantic 02:24
7. Eastern Intermezzo 01:27
8. ...To You 01:05
9. Stravinskijs Madness 00:58

The Second Moon was an one man project that was often compared to Limbonic Art or Bal Sagoth 
because of the symphonic elements that incorporated.
The founder of the band was Kjell Svalastog Matheussen and the project was formed in the spring 1997.
He released a demo entitled "Living Shadows From The Second Moon" and a MCD entitled "The Second Moon".
Matheussen had also recorded two demos before the creation of The Second Moon 
on which the music was quite industrial and extremely fast. He had also played in some small project-bands.
Torbjorn Akkarhaugen (owner of "Akkarhaugen Soundstudio" and former member of "Thou Shalt Suffer") 
was the technician and co-producer of the recording of the vocals and guitars on the MCD 
that was released through Oskorei Productions.