Saturday, 21 May 2016

Xenomorph – Cassandra's Nightmare (1998)

Country: Germany

1. Necroid Millenium 07:58
2. Hallucinatory Spheres 09:15
3. Abominations 09:40
4. Torrent Of Insanity 09:49
5. Acid For Blood 07:17
6. Obscure Spectre 09:22
7. Apocalyptic Ritual 07:46
8. Cassandra's Nightmare 08:27

Xenomorph is the one-man band of Mark Petrick, based in Berlin, Germany.
The band is considered one of the veterans in the trance scene who has played live shows in many countries. 
Mark sees himself as the inventor of horror-trance, a unique style that was unprecedented in 1996 when he created songs like "Obscure Spectre" which has upset many goa-people and was considered "unspiritual" or "un-goa-ish". 
Regardless of the initial anti-sentiment against his music he has kept and refined his style throughout the years 
in which the community has become more open and appreciative for dark music.
Unlike most younger trance artists who just listen to trance music, Mark was exposed to a multitude 
of musical influences like new wave, punk/post-punk, gothic, rock-music, death-rock, industrial, EBM, 
power-noise, death-metal, crossover/hardcore as well as classical music and soundtracks.
He started to be musically active in 1985 as a bass-player in a goth-band called "Fog Drowning".
In 1990 he formed his own EBM band "Terminal Warfare" in which he was the lead singer and has composed the songs.
He then joined the local band "Whippet Of Trench" as a keyboard player besides his own project one year later.
Due to him being a multi-instrumentalist, he was asked to play guitar/bass and keyboards 
for a couple of shows with the local industrial band "The Unknown" in 1993.
As an enthusiastic fan of death-metal, he also found himself in loose collaborations with local death-metal bands 
as an audio-engineer/guitarist for their demo-recordings in the studio.
After a long time of inspiration the second Xenomorph album "Qlippoth" was released in 2003
on Gnostic Records which is Xenomorph's own record label.
Until today Xenomorph has continued to produce cutting-edge dark electronic music and he has done 
the mastering post-production for more than 30 releases of various labels.
In November 2007 the 3rd Xenomorph Album "Demagoguery Of The Obscurants" was released.
It contains 10 quite different tracks packed into an elaborate concept critically reflecting current, past 
and future world events already prophesizing the economic crisis of 2009 and the formation of the New World Order.

No comments:

Post a Comment