Tuesday, 11 October 2016

Malignant Eternal – Far Beneath The Sun (1997)

Country: Norway

1. The Reaper 04:20
2. Far Beneath The Sun 06:35
3. My Empire 08:28
4. Prelude To Inferno? 04:32
5. A Stonecold Heart 02:48
6. Daemon Song 07:22
7. Carpathian Stardust 03:47
8. Glory 05:28

The band started back in 1991 under the name Apoplexy by Torgrim Øyre (vocals/guitar) and Brynjulv Guddal (drums). 
Later Kenneth Korsvold joined on bass and they recorded the demo ”In The Realm Of Flames” in 1993.
 In 1995 the band changed their name to Malignant Eternal 
and recorded a promo that followed up by their debut album ”Tårnet”.
In 1997 "Far Beneath The Sun" was released through Napalm Records 
and the next year the MCD "20th Century Beast" was created that was more a collection of tracks 
that the band couldn’t record for a normal full length and featured a re-recording of a ”Tårnet” track, a new one, 
a cover of Iron Maiden’sThe Number Of The Beast” and a remastered version of ”Glory” from ”Far Beneath The Sun".
In 1999 they released their last album "Alarm" that incorporated a lot of electronic-industrial elements.
After "Alarm" the band shortened their name to M-Eternal and did some touring around 2001, 
but have not shown any sign of activity since.


  1. I talked to Torgrim recently. The band is definitely dead for a long time now. Today he puts together metal fests in Norawy and does some management.

    1. Well thats very useful info indeed, thanks for this mate.