Tuesday, 22 October 2013

King Diamond ‎– The Eye (1990)

Country: Denmark

1. Eye Of The Witch 03:47
2. The Trial (Chambre Ardente) 05:13
3. Burn 03:43
4. Two Little Girls 02:41
5. Into The Convent 04:48
6. Father Picard 03:20
7. Behind These Walls 03:46
8. The Meetings 04:31
9. Insanity 03:01
10. 1642 Imprisonment 03:31
11. The Curse 05:44

King Diamond is a Danish heavy metal band formed in 1985.
The Eye is a concept album and continues to feature a major storyline 

such as other King Diamond albums, though it is told differently.
The band's past two concept albums have been told from the perspective of the protagonists, 
this one is told from the view of a narrator.
The themes of Christian atrocity with the persecution of alleged witches and sexual abuse against nuns are present.
The story is almost entirely historically accurate, including the names of the actual characters 
(except for the storyline about the "Eye necklace", which is fiction).
It starts off with an unnamed character finding a necklace called "The Eye", 
that allows him/her to see the events the necklace was witness for in the past.
They see an accused witch named Jeanne Dibasson being tortured and burned at the stake. 
Next they see two little girls finding the necklace in the ashes at a stake,
and what they see when they look in the eye kills them. 
Finally there is the story of Madeleine Bavent, a nun working in the Louviers convent,
who finds the necklace and decides to put it on. 
After being raped by Father David, she uses the necklace to kill him by making him look into it. 
Shortly after, the new Chaplain, Father Picard, arrives and starts bringing everyone to communion. 
He winds up lacing their communion wine with some substance that lets him control their minds, 
and uses a group of nuns including Madeleine to ritually torture and kill children. In 1642 all are arrested and imprisoned.
The main parts of the stories told on this album are true, and took place during the French Inquisition, 1450-1670.


No comments:

Post a Comment