Saturday, 30 June 2012

Danse Macabre – Totentanz (1998)

Country: Belgium

1. Dust Of Centuries 04:02
2. Totentanz 03:52
3. Death Is Midsummer 04:22
4. Gott Ist Tot (Where Science Prevailed) 04:06
5. Jester's Farewell (Solitude) 05:06
6. Decline Of Romanticism 04:01
7. Tristesse (Of Cardinals And Skeletons) 04:57
8. Ignorance Is Bliss (Di Talem Terris Avertite Pestem) 03:36
9. Overture To The Sun (Finsternis) - Instrumental 01:47
10. Megalomania 03:40
11. Psychopompos 02:28
12. A Dream Within A Dream 04:28

Gothic metal with Gunther Theys (Ancient Rites) on vocals 
and Jan "Orkki" Yrlund (Lacrimosa, Two Witches) on guitars, bass, programming and keyboards.
A band that started as a TransEuropean project with Gunther Theys, Magus Wampyr Daoloth (Necromantia) 
and Sotiris Vagenas (Septic Flesh).
There were some past interviews stated that Mortiis was going to participated 
in this project (or maybe another?) but this never came true.
With this line up they recorded in 1995 two amazing tracks (Psychopompos and A Dream Within A Dream) 
that were supposed to be released as a 7" ep on Molon Lave Records 
but since the label ceased to exist the record never saw the light of day.
(These were included in Totentanz as bonus tracks).
Since then the project was put on ice until 1997 where Gunther introduced to musicians 
interested in continuing Danse Macabre's work.

No comments:

Post a Comment