Saturday, 14 April 2012

Solefald – Neonism (1999)

Country: Norway

1. Proprietors Of Red 06:34
2. Speed Increased To Scaffold 08:27
3. CK II Chanel N°6 03:32
4. Fluorescent (The Total Orchestra) 05:20
5. A Motion Picture 01:56
6. Omnipolis 05:36
7. Backpacka Baba 05:25
8. Third Person Plural 04:03
9. 04.34 PM 03:23
10. The New Timelessness 06:00

In 1999, Solefald released their second full-length, entitled Neonism which is incorporating 
black metal, pop, classical music, punk, and progressive metal.
Neonism also featuring more vocal techniques from each member.
Singing in English and French, Lazare brought back his clean vocals while Cornelius is still using his high pitched shrieks and his lower grunting, but also a style of spoken word singing.
The lyrics are unconventional for metal in general and black metal especially, 
dealing with socio-political issues and pop culture criticism in songs like "Backpacka Baba" and "CK II Chanel no. 6".
Recorded at the famed Sunlight Studios the band stated that they used this quality of sound because of the multi-layered song structures demanding a thinner sound to allow the many facets of the music to shine through. 
Another reasoning was that they wanted to achieve the "old school black metal" sound.
The band coined the term "Radical Designer Rock 'n' Roll", for this release.
A really "crazy" and "enjoyable" album in all terms.
The memory link is for the remastered-reissue and contains one bonus track (Cosmophony).


No comments:

Post a Comment