Monday, 14 May 2018

Univers Zero – Heresie (1979)

Country: Belgium

1. La Faulx 25:25
2. Jack The Ripper 13:30
3. Vous Le Saurez En Temps Voulu 13:02
4. Chaos Hermétique (Bonus Track Recorded In 1975) 11:52

Univers Zero are an instrumental progressive Belgian band formed in 1974 by drummer Daniel Denis.
The band is known for playing dark music heavily influenced by 20th-century chamber music.
In 1973, Claude Deron and Daniel Denis, both former members of the band Arkham, set up a new group, Necronomicon.
By that time, apart from Deron (trumpet) and Denis (drums), the group consisted of Roger Trigaux (guitar),  
Guy Segers (bass guitar), Patrick Hanappier (violin), John Van Rymenant (sax) and later on Vincent Motoulle (keyboards).
At the time, Guy Denis (percussion) took part in some shows and rehearsals 
and Jean-Luc Manderlier (keyboards) was present only during rehearsals.
Necronomicon was renamed to Univers Zero in 1974.
The band was part of a musical movement called Rock In Opposition (RIO) which strove to create dense challenging music, a direct contrast to the disco and punk music being produced in the late 1970s.
Obvious early influences were Bartók, Stravinsky and composers such as Albert Huybrechts, who was also Belgian.
Whereas their early albums were almost entirely acoustic, featuring oboes, spinets, harmoniums and Mellotrons, 
their 1980s albums tended to rely more on synthesizer and electric guitar, sounding much more electric.
In 1977, they released their first eponymous album "Univers Zéro", later remixed and renamed as "1313". 
The album shows a heavy rock and roll approach despite the fact that the instrumentation was largely acoustic.
This is mostly due to the use of drums and bass guitar.
Two years later the album "Heresie" proved to be even darker and more complex.
Subsequent albums lightened the sound only slightly but became ever more electric.
The group disbanded in 1987 but reformed in 1999.
In the interim, drummer Daniel Denis released two solo albums and joined Art Zoyd, a similar band from France.
Since 1999, Univers Zero released five studio albums.
In 2011, they joined forces with Belgian groups Present and Aranis 
to form a 17-member ensemble called Once Upon A Time In Belgium.
They premiered at the fourth edition of the Rock In Opposition festival held in Carmaux, France in September 2011,
where they performed "New York Transformations", a work composed by Kurt Budé.
Once Upon A Time In Belgium and Univers Zero appear in the documentary film
"Romantic Warriors II: A Progressive Music Saga About Rock In Opposition".

No comments:

Post a Comment